Taasa Lodge
Tented lodge · East of the park (Loliondo side, per secondary sources) · Not stated
Taasa Lodge is a 12-tent lodge "centrally located among three of the largest safari ecosystems, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Serengeti National Park and Maasai Mara National Reserve". It offers off-road game drives in open 4x4s and night drives, neither allowed inside the park, so it stands outside it; secondary sources place it in Loliondo, on the park's eastern side, but the lodge does not say so. It also runs visits to a Maasai village. Its site does not name the operator or owner. Choose it for off-road and night drives east of the park; skip it if you need clear facts before you enquire.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Off-road and night drives
- Only 12 tents
- Maasai village visits
Cons
- Exact location not stated by the lodge
- Operator and owner not named
- Rates only in a PDF
- We found no published child policy
What's here
- En-suite bathrooms
Arranged from the lodge:
- Game drives
- Night drives
- Community visits
Read from Taasa Lodge's own website in July 2026. Anything not listed we could not confirm, which is not the same as it being absent.
What the park charges on top
The rate above buys you a bed. Serengeti National Park charges its own entry fee for every day you are inside. Here is what that adds up to.
- Park entry$70 plus 18% VAT, so $82.60, per 24 hours from 16 May to 14 March; $70.80 from 15 March to 15 May.
- $83per person, per day
- Vehicle$40 plus VAT, so $47.20, for a foreign-registered vehicle up to 2,000 kg; a Tanzanian-registered safari vehicle pays TSh 20,000, about $8 at TANAPA's TSh 2,555 to the dollar.
- $47per vehicle, per day
Three nights means three days inside, so two adults sharing one vehicle pay $639 in park fees before anyone pays for a bed.
A lodge or camp inside the park adds TANAPA's concession fee on top: $70.80 per adult per night from July to September and $59 from October to June, VAT included. Arriving by road from Arusha adds the Ngorongoro permit of $70.80 per adult each way.
The full fee schedule for Serengeti National ParkRates at Taasa Lodge
Rates on request. Taasa's rates are in a PDF we did not open; none are on its pages. As a lodge outside the park it charges no TANAPA concession fee, but each day you drive into the park costs the conservation fee of $82.60 per adult (16 May to 14 March, VAT included). Whether local area fees or VAT are in the lodge's rate is not stated.
What the rate covers is not confirmed. We do not know yet whether meals, drinks and activities are included, so read this as the bed only.
Every figure on this page is in US dollars.
Rates checked on 6 October 2026 against each operator's own website or rate sheet, in US dollars per person per night sharing unless the entry says otherwise. Two figures are per room, not per person: Serengeti Serena's $728 and Serengeti Explorer's $750 (a January 2025 opening offer). One figure is a reseller's, not the owner's: Africa Safari Serengeti Ikoma's $154 a night on Priceline (6 Oct 2026, basis not stated). Ndutu Safari Lodge's figures come from a rate sheet that ran to 15 December 2025, the newest on its site. Unless the entry says otherwise, TANAPA fees come on top of every rate inside the park: the conservation fee of $70 plus 18% VAT ($82.60) per adult per 24 hours from 16 May to 14 March, $70.80 from 15 March to 15 May, and the hotel concession fee of $70.80 per adult per night from July to September or $59.00 from October to June, VAT included. Camps at Ndutu and Lake Masek pay the Ngorongoro Conservation Area Authority instead: $70.80 entry per 24 hours and $59.00 concession per adult per night. Wilderness Usawa is the one rate we found that includes park fees.
Questions about Taasa Lodge
Is Taasa Lodge inside the Serengeti National Park?
No. It offers night drives and off-road driving, which the park does not allow. Secondary sources place it in Loliondo, east of the park.
Does Taasa Lodge do night drives?
Yes, Taasa lists night drives and off-road game drives in open-sided 4x4s.
How many tents does Taasa have?
Twelve, the lodge says.