Ikoma Tented Camp

Thatched Meru tents and campsite · Ikoma, just outside the north-western boundary · Moivaro Lodges & Tented Camps

Mid-range Outside the gate Owner-run

Ikoma Tented Camp is run by Moivaro, a Tanzanian group founded in 1999 and still led by its founder. It stands "just outside the national park boundary" at Ikoma on the north-western side, which is why it can offer what the park does not: night game drives and nature walks. There are 35 Meru tents under thatch and a campsite with a kitchen, toilets and hot showers, a cheaper choice for self-drivers than the TANAPA sites and without the concession fee. Moivaro also points to an airstrip nearby and runs full-day drives into the park. No rates are published. Choose it for night drives and a western base; skip it if you want to sleep inside the park.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Night drives and walks, which the park does not allow
  • Campsite with hot showers for self-drivers
  • No TANAPA concession fee
  • Airstrip nearby

Cons

  • Outside the park: every game drive starts with a gate
  • No published rates
  • Whether the airstrip is its own or Fort Ikoma's is not clear
  • We found no published child policy

What's here

  • Wi-Fi
  • Campsite
  • En-suite bathrooms

Arranged from the lodge:

  • Game drives
  • Guided walks
  • Night drives

Read from Ikoma Tented Camp's own website in July 2026. Anything not listed we could not confirm, which is not the same as it being absent.

What the park charges on top

The rate above buys you a bed. Serengeti National Park charges its own entry fee for every day you are inside. Here is what that adds up to.

Park entry$70 plus 18% VAT, so $82.60, per 24 hours from 16 May to 14 March; $70.80 from 15 March to 15 May.
$83per person, per day
Vehicle$40 plus VAT, so $47.20, for a foreign-registered vehicle up to 2,000 kg; a Tanzanian-registered safari vehicle pays TSh 20,000, about $8 at TANAPA's TSh 2,555 to the dollar.
$47per vehicle, per day

Three nights means three days inside, so two adults sharing one vehicle pay $639 in park fees before anyone pays for a bed.

A lodge or camp inside the park adds TANAPA's concession fee on top: $70.80 per adult per night from July to September and $59 from October to June, VAT included. Arriving by road from Arusha adds the Ngorongoro permit of $70.80 per adult each way.

The full fee schedule for Serengeti National Park

Rates at Ikoma Tented Camp

Rates on request. Moivaro publishes no rates. The camp is outside the park, so no TANAPA concession fee applies, but each day you drive in costs the conservation fee of $82.60 per adult (16 May to 14 March, VAT included). Whether VAT or any local area fee is in the camp's own rate is not stated.

What the rate covers is not confirmed. We do not know yet whether meals, drinks and activities are included, so read this as the bed only.

Every figure on this page is in US dollars.

Rates checked on 6 October 2026 against each operator's own website or rate sheet, in US dollars per person per night sharing unless the entry says otherwise. Two figures are per room, not per person: Serengeti Serena's $728 and Serengeti Explorer's $750 (a January 2025 opening offer). One figure is a reseller's, not the owner's: Africa Safari Serengeti Ikoma's $154 a night on Priceline (6 Oct 2026, basis not stated). Ndutu Safari Lodge's figures come from a rate sheet that ran to 15 December 2025, the newest on its site. Unless the entry says otherwise, TANAPA fees come on top of every rate inside the park: the conservation fee of $70 plus 18% VAT ($82.60) per adult per 24 hours from 16 May to 14 March, $70.80 from 15 March to 15 May, and the hotel concession fee of $70.80 per adult per night from July to September or $59.00 from October to June, VAT included. Camps at Ndutu and Lake Masek pay the Ngorongoro Conservation Area Authority instead: $70.80 entry per 24 hours and $59.00 concession per adult per night. Wilderness Usawa is the one rate we found that includes park fees.

Official website ↗

Questions about Ikoma Tented Camp

Is Ikoma Tented Camp inside the Serengeti?

No. Moivaro says it is just outside the national park boundary, which is why it can offer night drives and walks.

Can you camp at Ikoma Tented Camp?

Yes. Moivaro lists a camping site with a kitchen, toilets and hot showers.

Does Ikoma Tented Camp do night drives?

Yes, night game drives and nature walks are on Moivaro's activity list.

A safari guide by the river
A guide beside a game-drive vehicle at an airstrip

Your enquiry goes to a safari specialist

Reply usually within a day or two

They check availability and rates with Ikoma Tented Camp and reply to you directly.

  • No booking fee
  • Reply usually within a day or two
  • Nothing booked until you say so

Ask about dates and rates at Ikoma Tented Camp

Free, no obligation

Step 1 of 5. What are you looking for?

Pick any that fit.