Mapito Safari Camp, Autograph Collection

Design-led tented camp · Near Fort Ikoma Gate, just outside the park · Marriott International (Autograph Collection)

Top-end Outside the gate Safari company

Mapito is Marriott's first Autograph Collection safari camp, opened for stays from 15 September 2025 on "a 25-acre stretch just outside the Serengeti National Park" near Fort Ikoma Gate. Some resellers list it as in the park; the camp itself says outside. That position is the point: Mapito runs night safaris, sunrise walks and lantern-lit lion tracking, none of which the park allows, plus cultural visits with the Ikoma, and drives into the central and western park. Tents have retractable roofs and telescopes for stargazing, and there is a two-bedroom villa. No rate is published. Choose it for design and night activities on the edge; skip it if you want to sleep inside the boundary.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Night safaris and walks, not allowed inside the park
  • Stargazing roofs and telescopes
  • Close to Fort Ikoma Gate for the central and western park
  • No TANAPA concession fee

Cons

  • Outside the park, despite some reseller listings
  • No published rate
  • Unit count only from press reports
  • We found no published child policy

What's here

  • Family rooms
  • En-suite bathrooms

Arranged from the lodge:

  • Game drives
  • Guided walks
  • Night drives
  • Community visits

Read from Mapito Safari Camp, Autograph Collection's own website in July 2026. Anything not listed we could not confirm, which is not the same as it being absent.

What the park charges on top

The rate above buys you a bed. Serengeti National Park charges its own entry fee for every day you are inside. Here is what that adds up to.

Park entry$70 plus 18% VAT, so $82.60, per 24 hours from 16 May to 14 March; $70.80 from 15 March to 15 May.
$83per person, per day
Vehicle$40 plus VAT, so $47.20, for a foreign-registered vehicle up to 2,000 kg; a Tanzanian-registered safari vehicle pays TSh 20,000, about $8 at TANAPA's TSh 2,555 to the dollar.
$47per vehicle, per day

Three nights means three days inside, so two adults sharing one vehicle pay $639 in park fees before anyone pays for a bed.

A lodge or camp inside the park adds TANAPA's concession fee on top: $70.80 per adult per night from July to September and $59 from October to June, VAT included. Arriving by road from Arusha adds the Ngorongoro permit of $70.80 per adult each way.

The full fee schedule for Serengeti National Park

Rates at Mapito Safari Camp, Autograph Collection

Rates on request. Mapito publishes no rate on its own site. The camp is outside the park, so no TANAPA concession fee applies, but each day you drive in costs the conservation fee of $82.60 per adult (16 May to 14 March, VAT included). Whether VAT or local area fees are in the camp's own rate is not stated.

What the rate covers is not confirmed. We do not know yet whether meals, drinks and activities are included, so read this as the bed only.

Every figure on this page is in US dollars.

Rates checked on 6 October 2026 against each operator's own website or rate sheet, in US dollars per person per night sharing unless the entry says otherwise. Two figures are per room, not per person: Serengeti Serena's $728 and Serengeti Explorer's $750 (a January 2025 opening offer). One figure is a reseller's, not the owner's: Africa Safari Serengeti Ikoma's $154 a night on Priceline (6 Oct 2026, basis not stated). Ndutu Safari Lodge's figures come from a rate sheet that ran to 15 December 2025, the newest on its site. Unless the entry says otherwise, TANAPA fees come on top of every rate inside the park: the conservation fee of $70 plus 18% VAT ($82.60) per adult per 24 hours from 16 May to 14 March, $70.80 from 15 March to 15 May, and the hotel concession fee of $70.80 per adult per night from July to September or $59.00 from October to June, VAT included. Camps at Ndutu and Lake Masek pay the Ngorongoro Conservation Area Authority instead: $70.80 entry per 24 hours and $59.00 concession per adult per night. Wilderness Usawa is the one rate we found that includes park fees.

Official website ↗

Questions about Mapito Safari Camp, Autograph Collection

Is Mapito Safari Camp inside the Serengeti National Park?

No. Mapito describes itself as "just outside the Serengeti National Park", near Fort Ikoma Gate.

Can you do night drives at Mapito?

Yes. Mapito lists night safaris, sunrise walks and lion tracking by lantern, which it can offer because it is outside the park.

When did Mapito open?

Reservations opened for stays from 15 September 2025, according to travel press reports.

A safari guide by the river
A guide beside a game-drive vehicle at an airstrip

Your enquiry goes to a safari specialist

Reply usually within a day or two

They check availability and rates with Mapito Safari Camp, Autograph Collection and reply to you directly.

  • No booking fee
  • Reply usually within a day or two
  • Nothing booked until you say so

Ask about dates and rates at Mapito Safari Camp, Autograph Collection

Free, no obligation

Step 1 of 5. What are you looking for?

Pick any that fit.