&Beyond Klein's Camp

Stone-and-thatch cottages · Kuka Hills concession, east of the park boundary · &Beyond

Top-end Outside the gate Safari company

Klein's Camp is &Beyond's ten-cottage lodge on the Kuka Hills, on "a 10,000 hectare (24,700 acre) wildlife concession leased from Maasai landlords" that "borders the Serengeti". &Beyond's own page also calls it "deep in a remote corner of the game-rich Serengeti National Park"; it is not. Land leased from Maasai owners cannot be inside the park, and the camp's walks and night drives are only possible because it is outside. That is its strength: walking, night drives and only &Beyond vehicles, with the park next door. All ages are welcome. Guests fly to Lobo and drive 1.5 to 2 hours. Choose it for walking and night drives; skip it if you want to be inside the park.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Walking and night drives, not allowed in the park
  • Private concession: only &Beyond vehicles
  • All ages welcome, with a children's programme
  • Family Cottage of two linked cottages

Cons

  • Outside the park, though &Beyond's page says otherwise
  • 1.5 to 2 hours by road from Lobo airstrip
  • From $1,050 a person; basis not stated
  • Every day in the park adds the $82.60 conservation fee

What's here

  • Swimming pool
  • Family rooms
  • En-suite bathrooms
  • Spa or massage

Arranged from the lodge:

  • Game drives
  • Guided walks
  • Night drives
  • Community visits

Read from &Beyond Klein's Camp's own website in July 2026. Anything not listed we could not confirm, which is not the same as it being absent.

What the park charges on top

The rate above buys you a bed. Serengeti National Park charges its own entry fee for every day you are inside. Here is what that adds up to.

Park entry$70 plus 18% VAT, so $82.60, per 24 hours from 16 May to 14 March; $70.80 from 15 March to 15 May.
$83per person, per day
Vehicle$40 plus VAT, so $47.20, for a foreign-registered vehicle up to 2,000 kg; a Tanzanian-registered safari vehicle pays TSh 20,000, about $8 at TANAPA's TSh 2,555 to the dollar.
$47per vehicle, per day

Three nights means three days inside, so two adults sharing one vehicle pay $639 in park fees before anyone pays for a bed.

A lodge or camp inside the park adds TANAPA's concession fee on top: $70.80 per adult per night from July to September and $59 from October to June, VAT included. Arriving by road from Arusha adds the Ngorongoro permit of $70.80 per adult each way.

The full fee schedule for Serengeti National Park

Rates at &Beyond Klein's Camp

From $1,050 pppn. 2026 rate per cottage guest, per person per night; a Family Cottage costs from $3,675 per night (&Beyond, read 6 October 2026). The page does not say what the rate includes, whether the concession's own fees are in it, or whether VAT is. No TANAPA concession fee applies outside the park, but each day you drive into the park costs the conservation fee of $82.60 per adult (16 May to 14 March, VAT included).

What the rate covers is not confirmed. We do not know yet whether meals, drinks and activities are included, so read this as the bed only.

Every figure on this page is in US dollars.

Rates checked on 6 October 2026 against each operator's own website or rate sheet, in US dollars per person per night sharing unless the entry says otherwise. Two figures are per room, not per person: Serengeti Serena's $728 and Serengeti Explorer's $750 (a January 2025 opening offer). One figure is a reseller's, not the owner's: Africa Safari Serengeti Ikoma's $154 a night on Priceline (6 Oct 2026, basis not stated). Ndutu Safari Lodge's figures come from a rate sheet that ran to 15 December 2025, the newest on its site. Unless the entry says otherwise, TANAPA fees come on top of every rate inside the park: the conservation fee of $70 plus 18% VAT ($82.60) per adult per 24 hours from 16 May to 14 March, $70.80 from 15 March to 15 May, and the hotel concession fee of $70.80 per adult per night from July to September or $59.00 from October to June, VAT included. Camps at Ndutu and Lake Masek pay the Ngorongoro Conservation Area Authority instead: $70.80 entry per 24 hours and $59.00 concession per adult per night. Wilderness Usawa is the one rate we found that includes park fees.

Official website ↗

Questions about &Beyond Klein's Camp

Is Klein's Camp inside the Serengeti National Park?

No. &Beyond's page says "deep in ... the Serengeti National Park" but the same page describes a concession leased from Maasai landlords that borders the Serengeti. It stands outside the park, on the Loliondo side.

Can you walk and do night drives at Klein's Camp?

Yes. &Beyond lists walks and night drives on the concession, which the park itself does not allow.

Is Klein's Camp good for children?

&Beyond says all ages are welcome and runs its WildChild programme. The Family Cottage joins two cottages with a walkway.

A safari guide by the river
A guide beside a game-drive vehicle at an airstrip

Your enquiry goes to a safari specialist

Reply usually within a day or two

They check availability and rates with &Beyond Klein's Camp and reply to you directly.

  • No booking fee
  • Reply usually within a day or two
  • Nothing booked until you say so

Ask about dates and rates at &Beyond Klein's Camp

From $1,050 pppn

Free, no obligation

Step 1 of 5. What are you looking for?

Pick any that fit.