Serian's Serengeti South and Serengeti Mobile Kusini

Seasonal mobile camps · Southern short-grass plains (park or Ngorongoro Conservation Area, not stated) · Serian

A drawing, because nobody has sent us a photograph of Serian's Serengeti South and Serengeti Mobile Kusini yet. Send five and this page changes the same week.

Top-end Boundary unconfirmed Owner-run

Serian runs two southern camps for the calving season. Serengeti South is set up "on the southernmost extreme of the Serengeti's short grass plains" from mid-December to May, with six tents; Serengeti Mobile Kusini has four tents and two suites and is "perfectly positioned to access the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, as well as the Serengeti National Park". Neither page says which side of the park boundary the camp itself stands on, which decides whether you pay TANAPA or NCAA fees. Walks run with Maasai and Hadzabe guides. Choose them for private guiding on the calving plains; ask Serian where the camp is before you book.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Small camps on the calving plains
  • Walking with Maasai and Hadzabe guides
  • Owner-run, private guiding

Cons

  • Serian does not say whether the camps are in the park or the NCA
  • No published rate
  • We found no published child policy

What's here

  • En-suite bathrooms

Arranged from the lodge:

  • Game drives
  • Guided walks
  • Community visits

Read from Serian's Serengeti South and Serengeti Mobile Kusini's own website in July 2026. Anything not listed we could not confirm, which is not the same as it being absent.

What the park charges on top

The rate above buys you a bed. Serengeti National Park charges its own entry fee for every day you are inside. Here is what that adds up to.

Park entry$70 plus 18% VAT, so $82.60, per 24 hours from 16 May to 14 March; $70.80 from 15 March to 15 May.
$83per person, per day
Vehicle$40 plus VAT, so $47.20, for a foreign-registered vehicle up to 2,000 kg; a Tanzanian-registered safari vehicle pays TSh 20,000, about $8 at TANAPA's TSh 2,555 to the dollar.
$47per vehicle, per day

Three nights means three days inside, so two adults sharing one vehicle pay $639 in park fees before anyone pays for a bed.

A lodge or camp inside the park adds TANAPA's concession fee on top: $70.80 per adult per night from July to September and $59 from October to June, VAT included. Arriving by road from Arusha adds the Ngorongoro permit of $70.80 per adult each way.

The full fee schedule for Serengeti National Park

Rates at Serian's Serengeti South and Serengeti Mobile Kusini

Rates on request. Serian publishes no rate. Whether you pay TANAPA fees ($82.60 conservation plus $59.00 concession per adult per night from October to June) or NCAA fees ($70.80 entry plus $59.00 concession) depends on which side of the boundary the camp stands, which Serian does not say. Whether VAT is in the camp's own rate is not stated.

What the rate covers is not confirmed. We do not know yet whether meals, drinks and activities are included, so read this as the bed only.

Every figure on this page is in US dollars.

Rates checked on 6 October 2026 against each operator's own website or rate sheet, in US dollars per person per night sharing unless the entry says otherwise. Two figures are per room, not per person: Serengeti Serena's $728 and Serengeti Explorer's $750 (a January 2025 opening offer). One figure is a reseller's, not the owner's: Africa Safari Serengeti Ikoma's $154 a night on Priceline (6 Oct 2026, basis not stated). Ndutu Safari Lodge's figures come from a rate sheet that ran to 15 December 2025, the newest on its site. Unless the entry says otherwise, TANAPA fees come on top of every rate inside the park: the conservation fee of $70 plus 18% VAT ($82.60) per adult per 24 hours from 16 May to 14 March, $70.80 from 15 March to 15 May, and the hotel concession fee of $70.80 per adult per night from July to September or $59.00 from October to June, VAT included. Camps at Ndutu and Lake Masek pay the Ngorongoro Conservation Area Authority instead: $70.80 entry per 24 hours and $59.00 concession per adult per night. Wilderness Usawa is the one rate we found that includes park fees.

Official website ↗

Questions about Serian's Serengeti South and Serengeti Mobile Kusini

Are Serian's southern camps inside the Serengeti National Park?

Serian does not say. Serengeti South is on the southernmost short-grass plains, and Kusini is positioned to reach both the Ngorongoro Conservation Area and the park. Ask Serian which applies for your dates.

When is Serengeti South open?

From mid-December to May, Serian says.

Can you walk at Serian's southern camps?

Yes, Serian offers walks with Maasai and Hadzabe guides.

A safari guide by the river
A guide beside a game-drive vehicle at an airstrip

Your enquiry goes to a safari specialist

Reply usually within a day or two

They check availability and rates with Serian's Serengeti South and Serengeti Mobile Kusini and reply to you directly.

  • No booking fee
  • Reply usually within a day or two
  • Nothing booked until you say so

Ask about dates and rates at Serian's Serengeti South and Serengeti Mobile Kusini

Free, no obligation

Step 1 of 5. What are you looking for?

Pick any that fit.