Serengeti Kati Kati Tented Camp
Mobile tented camp · Central Serengeti · Tanganyika Wilderness Camps
Serengeti Kati Kati is "a mobile camp located in central Serengeti" run by Tanganyika Wilderness Camps, with ten tents and one family tent, open all year except April. It is the central member of TWC's three Kati Kati camps; the others are at the Mara River in the north and at Ndutu, which is in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area. A small camp in the central park suits a classic road safari with your operator. TWC publishes no rates or email. Choose it for a simple tented camp in the middle of the park; skip it in April, when it is shut.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Only 11 tents
- Family tent; children welcome
- Open eleven months a year
Cons
- Closed in April
- No published rates or email
- Exact site not published
What's here
- Family rooms
- En-suite bathrooms
Arranged from the lodge:
- Game drives
Read from Serengeti Kati Kati Tented Camp's own website in July 2026. Anything not listed we could not confirm, which is not the same as it being absent.
What the park charges on top
The rate above buys you a bed. Serengeti National Park charges its own entry fee for every day you are inside. Here is what that adds up to.
- Park entry$70 plus 18% VAT, so $82.60, per 24 hours from 16 May to 14 March; $70.80 from 15 March to 15 May.
- $83per person, per day
- Vehicle$40 plus VAT, so $47.20, for a foreign-registered vehicle up to 2,000 kg; a Tanzanian-registered safari vehicle pays TSh 20,000, about $8 at TANAPA's TSh 2,555 to the dollar.
- $47per vehicle, per day
Three nights means three days inside, so two adults sharing one vehicle pay $639 in park fees before anyone pays for a bed.
A lodge or camp inside the park adds TANAPA's concession fee on top: $70.80 per adult per night from July to September and $59 from October to June, VAT included. Arriving by road from Arusha adds the Ngorongoro permit of $70.80 per adult each way.
The full fee schedule for Serengeti National ParkRates at Serengeti Kati Kati Tented Camp
Rates on request. Tanganyika Wilderness Camps publishes no rates. TANAPA fees come on top: $82.60 conservation per adult per 24 hours (16 May to 14 March) and $70.80 (July to September) or $59.00 (October to June) concession per adult per night, VAT included. Whether VAT is in the camp's own rate is not stated.
What the rate covers is not confirmed. We do not know yet whether meals, drinks and activities are included, so read this as the bed only.
Every figure on this page is in US dollars.
Rates checked on 6 October 2026 against each operator's own website or rate sheet, in US dollars per person per night sharing unless the entry says otherwise. Two figures are per room, not per person: Serengeti Serena's $728 and Serengeti Explorer's $750 (a January 2025 opening offer). One figure is a reseller's, not the owner's: Africa Safari Serengeti Ikoma's $154 a night on Priceline (6 Oct 2026, basis not stated). Ndutu Safari Lodge's figures come from a rate sheet that ran to 15 December 2025, the newest on its site. Unless the entry says otherwise, TANAPA fees come on top of every rate inside the park: the conservation fee of $70 plus 18% VAT ($82.60) per adult per 24 hours from 16 May to 14 March, $70.80 from 15 March to 15 May, and the hotel concession fee of $70.80 per adult per night from July to September or $59.00 from October to June, VAT included. Camps at Ndutu and Lake Masek pay the Ngorongoro Conservation Area Authority instead: $70.80 entry per 24 hours and $59.00 concession per adult per night. Wilderness Usawa is the one rate we found that includes park fees.
Questions about Serengeti Kati Kati Tented Camp
When is Serengeti Kati Kati open?
All year except April, TWC says.
Is Serengeti Kati Kati the same as Ndutu Kati Kati?
No. TWC runs three Kati Kati camps: central Serengeti, the Mara River area and Ndutu. Only Ndutu Kati Kati is outside the national park, in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.
Can families stay at Serengeti Kati Kati?
Yes, there is one family tent and TWC says children are welcome. No ages are published.