Serengeti Safari Camp (Nomad)

Small classic mobile camp · Mobile, following the herds through the park · Nomad Tanzania

Top-end Inside the park Safari company

Serengeti Safari Camp is Nomad Tanzania's original mobile camp, which moves "from one sweet Serengeti site to another" with the herds. It has only six tents, one of them a family tent with two en-suite rooms and a shared living area. Nomad does not publish its seasonal sites; if the December to March site is at Ndutu, it would then be in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, so ask. No rate is published. Choose it for a very small camp that follows the migration; skip it if you need the exact site fixed.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Six tents only
  • Moves with the herds
  • Family tent with two en-suite rooms

Cons

  • No published rate
  • Seasonal sites not published; one may be outside the park
  • No airstrip named

What's here

  • Family rooms
  • En-suite bathrooms

Arranged from the lodge:

  • Game drives

Read from Serengeti Safari Camp (Nomad)'s own website in July 2026. Anything not listed we could not confirm, which is not the same as it being absent.

What the park charges on top

The rate above buys you a bed. Serengeti National Park charges its own entry fee for every day you are inside. Here is what that adds up to.

Park entry$70 plus 18% VAT, so $82.60, per 24 hours from 16 May to 14 March; $70.80 from 15 March to 15 May.
$83per person, per day
Vehicle$40 plus VAT, so $47.20, for a foreign-registered vehicle up to 2,000 kg; a Tanzanian-registered safari vehicle pays TSh 20,000, about $8 at TANAPA's TSh 2,555 to the dollar.
$47per vehicle, per day

Three nights means three days inside, so two adults sharing one vehicle pay $639 in park fees before anyone pays for a bed.

A lodge or camp inside the park adds TANAPA's concession fee on top: $70.80 per adult per night from July to September and $59 from October to June, VAT included. Arriving by road from Arusha adds the Ngorongoro permit of $70.80 per adult each way.

The full fee schedule for Serengeti National Park

Rates at Serengeti Safari Camp (Nomad)

Rates on request. Nomad publishes no rate. TANAPA fees come on top unless Nomad says otherwise: $82.60 conservation per adult per 24 hours (16 May to 14 March) and $70.80 (July to September) or $59.00 (October to June) concession per adult per night, VAT included. If the December to March site is at Ndutu, NCAA fees apply instead. Whether VAT is in the camp's own rate is not stated.

What the rate covers is not confirmed. We do not know yet whether meals, drinks and activities are included, so read this as the bed only.

Every figure on this page is in US dollars.

Rates checked on 6 October 2026 against each operator's own website or rate sheet, in US dollars per person per night sharing unless the entry says otherwise. Two figures are per room, not per person: Serengeti Serena's $728 and Serengeti Explorer's $750 (a January 2025 opening offer). One figure is a reseller's, not the owner's: Africa Safari Serengeti Ikoma's $154 a night on Priceline (6 Oct 2026, basis not stated). Ndutu Safari Lodge's figures come from a rate sheet that ran to 15 December 2025, the newest on its site. Unless the entry says otherwise, TANAPA fees come on top of every rate inside the park: the conservation fee of $70 plus 18% VAT ($82.60) per adult per 24 hours from 16 May to 14 March, $70.80 from 15 March to 15 May, and the hotel concession fee of $70.80 per adult per night from July to September or $59.00 from October to June, VAT included. Camps at Ndutu and Lake Masek pay the Ngorongoro Conservation Area Authority instead: $70.80 entry per 24 hours and $59.00 concession per adult per night. Wilderness Usawa is the one rate we found that includes park fees.

Official website ↗

Questions about Serengeti Safari Camp (Nomad)

Where is Nomad's Serengeti Safari Camp?

It moves through the Serengeti with the herds. Nomad does not publish its sites, so ask where it stands for your dates.

How many tents does Serengeti Safari Camp have?

Six, Nomad says, including one family tent.

Does Serengeti Safari Camp take children?

There is a family tent with two en-suite tents and a living area. We found no published age policy.

A safari guide by the river
A guide beside a game-drive vehicle at an airstrip

Your enquiry goes to a safari specialist

Reply usually within a day or two

They check availability and rates with Serengeti Safari Camp (Nomad) and reply to you directly.

  • No booking fee
  • Reply usually within a day or two
  • Nothing booked until you say so

Ask about dates and rates at Serengeti Safari Camp (Nomad)

Free, no obligation

Step 1 of 5. What are you looking for?

Pick any that fit.