Kusini (Nomad)
Remote kopje camp · Kusini kopjes, southern Serengeti · Nomad Tanzania
Kusini is Nomad Tanzania's new base camp in the southern Serengeti, set up among the kopjes of the Kusini area inside the park; Nomad wrote in March 2026 that it was "very excited to be setting up camp here". The south is calving country from December to March, and Kusini lies inside the national park, so you pay TANAPA fees rather than the NCAA fees charged at Ndutu. Nomad mentions walks among the kopjes and "sundowners on the rocks". It publishes no rate, capacity or season. Choose it for a new camp in the southern park; skip it if you want a camp with a track record.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Inside the park in the southern calving area
- Walking among the kopjes
- New camp in a remote corner
Cons
- No rate, capacity or open months published
- New, with little independent record
- No airstrip named
What's here
Arranged from the lodge:
- Game drives
- Guided walks
We could not reach a website for Kusini (Nomad), so this list is incomplete by definition. Ask them directly.
What the park charges on top
The rate above buys you a bed. Serengeti National Park charges its own entry fee for every day you are inside. Here is what that adds up to.
- Park entry$70 plus 18% VAT, so $82.60, per 24 hours from 16 May to 14 March; $70.80 from 15 March to 15 May.
- $83per person, per day
- Vehicle$40 plus VAT, so $47.20, for a foreign-registered vehicle up to 2,000 kg; a Tanzanian-registered safari vehicle pays TSh 20,000, about $8 at TANAPA's TSh 2,555 to the dollar.
- $47per vehicle, per day
Three nights means three days inside, so two adults sharing one vehicle pay $639 in park fees before anyone pays for a bed.
A lodge or camp inside the park adds TANAPA's concession fee on top: $70.80 per adult per night from July to September and $59 from October to June, VAT included. Arriving by road from Arusha adds the Ngorongoro permit of $70.80 per adult each way.
The full fee schedule for Serengeti National ParkRates at Kusini (Nomad)
Rates on request. Nomad publishes no rate. TANAPA fees come on top unless Nomad says otherwise: $82.60 conservation per adult per 24 hours (16 May to 14 March) and $70.80 (July to September) or $59.00 (October to June) concession per adult per night, VAT included. Whether VAT is in the camp's own rate is not stated.
What the rate covers is not confirmed. We do not know yet whether meals, drinks and activities are included, so read this as the bed only.
Every figure on this page is in US dollars.
Rates checked on 6 October 2026 against each operator's own website or rate sheet, in US dollars per person per night sharing unless the entry says otherwise. Two figures are per room, not per person: Serengeti Serena's $728 and Serengeti Explorer's $750 (a January 2025 opening offer). One figure is a reseller's, not the owner's: Africa Safari Serengeti Ikoma's $154 a night on Priceline (6 Oct 2026, basis not stated). Ndutu Safari Lodge's figures come from a rate sheet that ran to 15 December 2025, the newest on its site. Unless the entry says otherwise, TANAPA fees come on top of every rate inside the park: the conservation fee of $70 plus 18% VAT ($82.60) per adult per 24 hours from 16 May to 14 March, $70.80 from 15 March to 15 May, and the hotel concession fee of $70.80 per adult per night from July to September or $59.00 from October to June, VAT included. Camps at Ndutu and Lake Masek pay the Ngorongoro Conservation Area Authority instead: $70.80 entry per 24 hours and $59.00 concession per adult per night. Wilderness Usawa is the one rate we found that includes park fees.
Questions about Kusini (Nomad)
Is Nomad Kusini inside the Serengeti National Park?
Yes. Nomad files it under Serengeti National Park, in the southern kopjes; TANAPA also lists seasonal campsites at Kusini in the south of the park.
When did Kusini open?
Nomad described it as its new base camp in March 2026. It gives no exact opening date.
How much is Nomad Kusini?
Nomad publishes no rate; ask at info@nomad-tanzania.com.