Nimali Serengeti

Luxury tented camp · Central Serengeti, 40 minutes from Seronera · Nimali Africa

Top-end Inside the park Ownership unconfirmed

Nimali Serengeti is a 12-suite tented camp in the central Serengeti, 40 minutes by road from Seronera airstrip, run by the small Tanzanian-based Nimali Africa collection, whose site does not say who owns it. Two suites share a walkway, which makes a family unit. Nimali publishes one of the clearest child policies in the park: under 6 free, 6 to 12 at half the adult rate, 13 to 17 at 75%; no children under 6 on open-vehicle drives and none under 12 on walks. Nimali says the herds move through "from April to June and October to December". Choose it for a family stay with known rules; skip it if your children are under 6 and you want them on drives.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Published child rates and age rules
  • Linked family suites
  • Central position, 40 minutes from Seronera
  • Only 12 suites

Cons

  • No adult rate on the pages read
  • No children under 6 on open-vehicle drives
  • Ownership not stated

What's here

  • Family rooms
  • En-suite bathrooms

Arranged from the lodge:

  • Game drives
  • Guided walks

Read from Nimali Serengeti's own website in July 2026. Anything not listed we could not confirm, which is not the same as it being absent.

What the park charges on top

The rate above buys you a bed. Serengeti National Park charges its own entry fee for every day you are inside. Here is what that adds up to.

Park entry$70 plus 18% VAT, so $82.60, per 24 hours from 16 May to 14 March; $70.80 from 15 March to 15 May.
$83per person, per day
Vehicle$40 plus VAT, so $47.20, for a foreign-registered vehicle up to 2,000 kg; a Tanzanian-registered safari vehicle pays TSh 20,000, about $8 at TANAPA's TSh 2,555 to the dollar.
$47per vehicle, per day

Three nights means three days inside, so two adults sharing one vehicle pay $639 in park fees before anyone pays for a bed.

A lodge or camp inside the park adds TANAPA's concession fee on top: $70.80 per adult per night from July to September and $59 from October to June, VAT included. Arriving by road from Arusha adds the Ngorongoro permit of $70.80 per adult each way.

The full fee schedule for Serengeti National Park

Rates at Nimali Serengeti

Rates on request. Nimali's rates sit in a fact sheet we could not read; none appear on its pages. Child rates are published: free under 6, 50% of the adult rate for 6 to 12 sharing, 75% for 13 to 17. TANAPA fees come on top unless Nimali says otherwise: $82.60 conservation per adult per 24 hours (16 May to 14 March) and $70.80 (July to September) or $59.00 (October to June) concession per adult per night, VAT included. Whether VAT is in the camp's own rate is not stated.

What the rate covers is not confirmed. We do not know yet whether meals, drinks and activities are included, so read this as the bed only.

Every figure on this page is in US dollars.

Rates checked on 6 October 2026 against each operator's own website or rate sheet, in US dollars per person per night sharing unless the entry says otherwise. Two figures are per room, not per person: Serengeti Serena's $728 and Serengeti Explorer's $750 (a January 2025 opening offer). One figure is a reseller's, not the owner's: Africa Safari Serengeti Ikoma's $154 a night on Priceline (6 Oct 2026, basis not stated). Ndutu Safari Lodge's figures come from a rate sheet that ran to 15 December 2025, the newest on its site. Unless the entry says otherwise, TANAPA fees come on top of every rate inside the park: the conservation fee of $70 plus 18% VAT ($82.60) per adult per 24 hours from 16 May to 14 March, $70.80 from 15 March to 15 May, and the hotel concession fee of $70.80 per adult per night from July to September or $59.00 from October to June, VAT included. Camps at Ndutu and Lake Masek pay the Ngorongoro Conservation Area Authority instead: $70.80 entry per 24 hours and $59.00 concession per adult per night. Wilderness Usawa is the one rate we found that includes park fees.

Official website ↗

Questions about Nimali Serengeti

What is the child policy at Nimali Serengeti?

Nimali's page: under 6 free, 6 to 12 sharing with adults at 50% of the adult rate, 13 to 17 at 75%. Children under 6 are not allowed on open-vehicle game drives, and under-12s cannot join walking safaris or bush camping.

How far is Nimali Serengeti from the airstrip?

A 40-minute road transfer from Seronera airstrip.

Does Nimali have a camp at Kogatende?

TANAPA's register lists a Nimali Africa Kogatende camp in the north, but Nimali's own site showed no such camp on 6 October 2026.

A safari guide by the river
A guide beside a game-drive vehicle at an airstrip

Your enquiry goes to a safari specialist

Reply usually within a day or two

They check availability and rates with Nimali Serengeti and reply to you directly.

  • No booking fee
  • Reply usually within a day or two
  • Nothing booked until you say so

Ask about dates and rates at Nimali Serengeti

Free, no obligation

Step 1 of 5. What are you looking for?

Pick any that fit.