Mara Kati Kati Tented Camp
Mobile tented camp · Near the Mara River, northern Serengeti · Tanganyika Wilderness Camps
Mara Kati Kati is Tanganyika Wilderness Camps' mobile camp near the Mara River in the northern Serengeti, with eleven tents and a family tent, 20 minutes from Kogatende airstrip. TWC says it is "the closest camp to the Mara river" and places it "in the Mara Triangle area". That is loose wording: the Mara Triangle is the Kenyan side of the river, and the camp is in Tanzania's Serengeti National Park. TWC publishes no rates or open months. Choose it for a mid-range night by the river crossings; skip it if you need published prices.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Close to the Mara River
- 20 minutes from Kogatende airstrip
- Family tent; children welcome
Cons
- No published rates, months or email
- TWC's "Mara Triangle" wording confuses it with Kenya
- Exact site not published
What's here
- Family rooms
- En-suite bathrooms
Arranged from the lodge:
- Game drives
Read from Mara Kati Kati Tented Camp's own website in July 2026. Anything not listed we could not confirm, which is not the same as it being absent.
What the park charges on top
The rate above buys you a bed. Serengeti National Park charges its own entry fee for every day you are inside. Here is what that adds up to.
- Park entry$70 plus 18% VAT, so $82.60, per 24 hours from 16 May to 14 March; $70.80 from 15 March to 15 May.
- $83per person, per day
- Vehicle$40 plus VAT, so $47.20, for a foreign-registered vehicle up to 2,000 kg; a Tanzanian-registered safari vehicle pays TSh 20,000, about $8 at TANAPA's TSh 2,555 to the dollar.
- $47per vehicle, per day
Three nights means three days inside, so two adults sharing one vehicle pay $639 in park fees before anyone pays for a bed.
A lodge or camp inside the park adds TANAPA's concession fee on top: $70.80 per adult per night from July to September and $59 from October to June, VAT included. Arriving by road from Arusha adds the Ngorongoro permit of $70.80 per adult each way.
The full fee schedule for Serengeti National ParkRates at Mara Kati Kati Tented Camp
Rates on request. Tanganyika Wilderness Camps publishes no rates. TANAPA fees come on top: $82.60 conservation per adult per 24 hours (16 May to 14 March) and $70.80 (July to September) or $59.00 (October to June) concession per adult per night, VAT included. Whether VAT is in the camp's own rate is not stated.
What the rate covers is not confirmed. We do not know yet whether meals, drinks and activities are included, so read this as the bed only.
Every figure on this page is in US dollars.
Rates checked on 6 October 2026 against each operator's own website or rate sheet, in US dollars per person per night sharing unless the entry says otherwise. Two figures are per room, not per person: Serengeti Serena's $728 and Serengeti Explorer's $750 (a January 2025 opening offer). One figure is a reseller's, not the owner's: Africa Safari Serengeti Ikoma's $154 a night on Priceline (6 Oct 2026, basis not stated). Ndutu Safari Lodge's figures come from a rate sheet that ran to 15 December 2025, the newest on its site. Unless the entry says otherwise, TANAPA fees come on top of every rate inside the park: the conservation fee of $70 plus 18% VAT ($82.60) per adult per 24 hours from 16 May to 14 March, $70.80 from 15 March to 15 May, and the hotel concession fee of $70.80 per adult per night from July to September or $59.00 from October to June, VAT included. Camps at Ndutu and Lake Masek pay the Ngorongoro Conservation Area Authority instead: $70.80 entry per 24 hours and $59.00 concession per adult per night. Wilderness Usawa is the one rate we found that includes park fees.
Questions about Mara Kati Kati Tented Camp
Is Mara Kati Kati in Kenya's Mara Triangle?
No. TWC uses the name, but the Mara Triangle is on the Kenyan side. The camp is in the northern Serengeti National Park, 20 minutes from Kogatende airstrip.
Which airstrip serves Mara Kati Kati?
Kogatende, 20 minutes away, according to TWC.
Does Mara Kati Kati have family tents?
One family tent, and TWC says children are welcome; no ages are published.