Kirawira Serena Camp
Edwardian-style tented camp · Kirawira Plains, Western Corridor · Serena Hotels
Kirawira Serena is a 25-tent camp in Edwardian style "set against the majesty of Serengeti National Park's Western Corridor", with views over the Kirawira Plains. Serena calls it "the most exclusive of the Serena safari properties": tents come with valet service and there are Maisha Spa treatment rooms. The Western Corridor is quieter than Seronera for most of the year and on the herds' route in the middle of it. Serena showed no rate on its page. Choose it for colonial-style service in the west; skip it if you want walking, which Serena does not list.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Western Corridor setting, quieter than Seronera
- Valet service and spa treatment rooms
- Open all year
Cons
- No rate shown on Serena's page
- No walking listed
- We found no published child policy
What's here
- En-suite bathrooms
- Spa or massage
Arranged from the lodge:
- Game drives
Read from Kirawira Serena Camp's own website in July 2026. Anything not listed we could not confirm, which is not the same as it being absent.
What the park charges on top
The rate above buys you a bed. Serengeti National Park charges its own entry fee for every day you are inside. Here is what that adds up to.
- Park entry$70 plus 18% VAT, so $82.60, per 24 hours from 16 May to 14 March; $70.80 from 15 March to 15 May.
- $83per person, per day
- Vehicle$40 plus VAT, so $47.20, for a foreign-registered vehicle up to 2,000 kg; a Tanzanian-registered safari vehicle pays TSh 20,000, about $8 at TANAPA's TSh 2,555 to the dollar.
- $47per vehicle, per day
Three nights means three days inside, so two adults sharing one vehicle pay $639 in park fees before anyone pays for a bed.
A lodge or camp inside the park adds TANAPA's concession fee on top: $70.80 per adult per night from July to September and $59 from October to June, VAT included. Arriving by road from Arusha adds the Ngorongoro permit of $70.80 per adult each way.
The full fee schedule for Serengeti National ParkRates at Kirawira Serena Camp
Rates on request. Serena showed no rate on the page read on 6 October 2026. TANAPA fees come on top: $82.60 conservation per adult per 24 hours (16 May to 14 March) and $70.80 (July to September) or $59.00 (October to June) concession per adult per night, VAT included. Whether VAT is in the camp's own rate is not stated.
What the rate covers is not confirmed. We do not know yet whether meals, drinks and activities are included, so read this as the bed only.
Every figure on this page is in US dollars.
Rates checked on 6 October 2026 against each operator's own website or rate sheet, in US dollars per person per night sharing unless the entry says otherwise. Two figures are per room, not per person: Serengeti Serena's $728 and Serengeti Explorer's $750 (a January 2025 opening offer). One figure is a reseller's, not the owner's: Africa Safari Serengeti Ikoma's $154 a night on Priceline (6 Oct 2026, basis not stated). Ndutu Safari Lodge's figures come from a rate sheet that ran to 15 December 2025, the newest on its site. Unless the entry says otherwise, TANAPA fees come on top of every rate inside the park: the conservation fee of $70 plus 18% VAT ($82.60) per adult per 24 hours from 16 May to 14 March, $70.80 from 15 March to 15 May, and the hotel concession fee of $70.80 per adult per night from July to September or $59.00 from October to June, VAT included. Camps at Ndutu and Lake Masek pay the Ngorongoro Conservation Area Authority instead: $70.80 entry per 24 hours and $59.00 concession per adult per night. Wilderness Usawa is the one rate we found that includes park fees.
Questions about Kirawira Serena Camp
Where is Kirawira Serena Camp?
In the Western Corridor of Serengeti National Park, overlooking the Kirawira Plains, Serena says.
How many tents does Kirawira have?
25 tents, Serena says.
Does Kirawira Serena take children?
We found no published child policy on Serena's page; ask at kirawira@serena.co.tz.