&Beyond Grumeti Serengeti River Lodge

Small lodge with plunge pools · Grumeti River tributary, far western Serengeti · &Beyond

Top-end Inside the park Safari company

&Beyond Grumeti Serengeti River Lodge stands "in a wilder, quieter part of the Serengeti National Park", in its far western reaches, on a tributary of the Grumeti River where hippos live in front of the lodge. All ten river-facing suites, one of them for families, have private plunge pools. &Beyond lists "game drives without crowds", quiet walks, community visits and yoga at dawn. Do not confuse it with the Singita Grumeti lodges, which stand in a private reserve outside the park. Choose it for a small lodge in the western park; skip it if you need a published rate.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Plunge pool in every suite
  • Hippos in the river in front
  • Only ten suites, one for families
  • Walks and community visits

Cons

  • No published rate
  • Remote far-western position
  • No child age policy captured

What's here

  • Swimming pool
  • Family rooms
  • En-suite bathrooms

Arranged from the lodge:

  • Game drives
  • Guided walks
  • Community visits

Read from &Beyond Grumeti Serengeti River Lodge's own website in July 2026. Anything not listed we could not confirm, which is not the same as it being absent.

What the park charges on top

The rate above buys you a bed. Serengeti National Park charges its own entry fee for every day you are inside. Here is what that adds up to.

Park entry$70 plus 18% VAT, so $82.60, per 24 hours from 16 May to 14 March; $70.80 from 15 March to 15 May.
$83per person, per day
Vehicle$40 plus VAT, so $47.20, for a foreign-registered vehicle up to 2,000 kg; a Tanzanian-registered safari vehicle pays TSh 20,000, about $8 at TANAPA's TSh 2,555 to the dollar.
$47per vehicle, per day

Three nights means three days inside, so two adults sharing one vehicle pay $639 in park fees before anyone pays for a bed.

A lodge or camp inside the park adds TANAPA's concession fee on top: $70.80 per adult per night from July to September and $59 from October to June, VAT included. Arriving by road from Arusha adds the Ngorongoro permit of $70.80 per adult each way.

The full fee schedule for Serengeti National Park

Rates at &Beyond Grumeti Serengeti River Lodge

Rates on request. &Beyond showed no rate on the redesigned page read on 6 October 2026. TANAPA fees come on top unless &Beyond says otherwise: $82.60 conservation per adult per 24 hours (16 May to 14 March) and $70.80 (July to September) or $59.00 (October to June) concession per adult per night, VAT included. Whether VAT is in the lodge's own rate is not stated.

What the rate covers is not confirmed. We do not know yet whether meals, drinks and activities are included, so read this as the bed only.

Every figure on this page is in US dollars.

Rates checked on 6 October 2026 against each operator's own website or rate sheet, in US dollars per person per night sharing unless the entry says otherwise. Two figures are per room, not per person: Serengeti Serena's $728 and Serengeti Explorer's $750 (a January 2025 opening offer). One figure is a reseller's, not the owner's: Africa Safari Serengeti Ikoma's $154 a night on Priceline (6 Oct 2026, basis not stated). Ndutu Safari Lodge's figures come from a rate sheet that ran to 15 December 2025, the newest on its site. Unless the entry says otherwise, TANAPA fees come on top of every rate inside the park: the conservation fee of $70 plus 18% VAT ($82.60) per adult per 24 hours from 16 May to 14 March, $70.80 from 15 March to 15 May, and the hotel concession fee of $70.80 per adult per night from July to September or $59.00 from October to June, VAT included. Camps at Ndutu and Lake Masek pay the Ngorongoro Conservation Area Authority instead: $70.80 entry per 24 hours and $59.00 concession per adult per night. Wilderness Usawa is the one rate we found that includes park fees.

Official website ↗

Questions about &Beyond Grumeti Serengeti River Lodge

Is Grumeti Serengeti River Lodge inside the national park?

Yes. &Beyond places it in the far western reaches of Serengeti National Park. The Singita Grumeti lodges, by contrast, are in a private reserve outside the park.

Does every suite have a plunge pool?

Yes, &Beyond says all ten river-facing suites have private plunge pools.

Is there a family suite?

One of the ten suites is for families. We found no published age policy.

A safari guide by the river
A guide beside a game-drive vehicle at an airstrip

Your enquiry goes to a safari specialist

Reply usually within a day or two

They check availability and rates with &Beyond Grumeti Serengeti River Lodge and reply to you directly.

  • No booking fee
  • Reply usually within a day or two
  • Nothing booked until you say so

Ask about dates and rates at &Beyond Grumeti Serengeti River Lodge

Free, no obligation

Step 1 of 5. What are you looking for?

Pick any that fit.