&Beyond Serengeti Under Canvas

Classic mobile tented camp · Mobile, moving through the park with the seasons · &Beyond

Top-end Inside the park Safari company

Serengeti Under Canvas is &Beyond's mobile camp, run as "two intimate camps of just nine tents each" that relocate through the year to stay close to the herds. It is the classic style: canvas tents, bucket showers, twice-daily game drives. &Beyond does not publish its seasonal sites, and if any falls at Ndutu in the calving months that site would be in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, not the park; ask before you book. Choose it for an old-style mobile camp; skip it if you want to know exactly where you will sleep.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Only nine tents per camp
  • Moves with the herds
  • Twice-daily drives

Cons

  • No published rate
  • Seasonal sites not published; one may be outside the park
  • We found no published child policy

What's here

  • En-suite bathrooms

Arranged from the lodge:

  • Game drives

Read from &Beyond Serengeti Under Canvas's own website in July 2026. Anything not listed we could not confirm, which is not the same as it being absent.

What the park charges on top

The rate above buys you a bed. Serengeti National Park charges its own entry fee for every day you are inside. Here is what that adds up to.

Park entry$70 plus 18% VAT, so $82.60, per 24 hours from 16 May to 14 March; $70.80 from 15 March to 15 May.
$83per person, per day
Vehicle$40 plus VAT, so $47.20, for a foreign-registered vehicle up to 2,000 kg; a Tanzanian-registered safari vehicle pays TSh 20,000, about $8 at TANAPA's TSh 2,555 to the dollar.
$47per vehicle, per day

Three nights means three days inside, so two adults sharing one vehicle pay $639 in park fees before anyone pays for a bed.

A lodge or camp inside the park adds TANAPA's concession fee on top: $70.80 per adult per night from July to September and $59 from October to June, VAT included. Arriving by road from Arusha adds the Ngorongoro permit of $70.80 per adult each way.

The full fee schedule for Serengeti National Park

Rates at &Beyond Serengeti Under Canvas

Rates on request. &Beyond showed no rate on the page read on 6 October 2026. TANAPA fees come on top unless &Beyond says otherwise: $82.60 conservation per adult per 24 hours (16 May to 14 March) and $70.80 (July to September) or $59.00 (October to June) concession per adult per night, VAT included. If a seasonal site is at Ndutu, NCAA fees apply there instead. Whether VAT is in the camp's own rate is not stated.

What the rate covers is not confirmed. We do not know yet whether meals, drinks and activities are included, so read this as the bed only.

Every figure on this page is in US dollars.

Rates checked on 6 October 2026 against each operator's own website or rate sheet, in US dollars per person per night sharing unless the entry says otherwise. Two figures are per room, not per person: Serengeti Serena's $728 and Serengeti Explorer's $750 (a January 2025 opening offer). One figure is a reseller's, not the owner's: Africa Safari Serengeti Ikoma's $154 a night on Priceline (6 Oct 2026, basis not stated). Ndutu Safari Lodge's figures come from a rate sheet that ran to 15 December 2025, the newest on its site. Unless the entry says otherwise, TANAPA fees come on top of every rate inside the park: the conservation fee of $70 plus 18% VAT ($82.60) per adult per 24 hours from 16 May to 14 March, $70.80 from 15 March to 15 May, and the hotel concession fee of $70.80 per adult per night from July to September or $59.00 from October to June, VAT included. Camps at Ndutu and Lake Masek pay the Ngorongoro Conservation Area Authority instead: $70.80 entry per 24 hours and $59.00 concession per adult per night. Wilderness Usawa is the one rate we found that includes park fees.

Official website ↗

Questions about &Beyond Serengeti Under Canvas

Where is Serengeti Under Canvas?

It relocates seasonally through the Serengeti National Park, &Beyond says, without publishing the sites. Ask where it will be for your dates.

How big is Serengeti Under Canvas?

Two camps of nine tents each.

What is the shower like at Serengeti Under Canvas?

&Beyond describes bucket showers, the standard in classic mobile camps. Its page says no more about them.

A safari guide by the river
A guide beside a game-drive vehicle at an airstrip

Your enquiry goes to a safari specialist

Reply usually within a day or two

They check availability and rates with &Beyond Serengeti Under Canvas and reply to you directly.

  • No booking fee
  • Reply usually within a day or two
  • Nothing booked until you say so

Ask about dates and rates at &Beyond Serengeti Under Canvas

Free, no obligation

Step 1 of 5. What are you looking for?

Pick any that fit.